top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

A True Western Romance | Peter Varga

So it’s Autumn again Our countryside paints in aquamarine, deep purple sky

Ours, like no urban home, has a stage which Breathes and moves,

No, lives and feels The leaves perform for us today, I am sure Ask them for me, what makes them dance With such an unspeakable lilt? For puppets of the wind,

Whom I direct, how is it?

To be nothing, have I felt it and yet you see it,

Yes, you see nothing and that Is what I cannot bear, that Is our burden since there is too much to share.

What I profess is unspeakable, wilts away

My words fail and the wind is unsympathetic,

In this way the frost I cannot feel must de-

couple me from a spectator’s stem, to

Let me fall again, fall into something more abstract. Let me Show you fear in a handful of dust, since

Heaven has forbade me to spectate for longer.

So I beat on, (ceaselessly), I plead, My daughter, do not curse the angels It was my pleasure watching you grow up and old, in

Our experience together where lifelines run parallel.

You can ask me all about it, please ask Me everything I failed to express as a father

Let me show you love in another lifetime,

Ask me now, while I comprehend, ask How it feels

To exist simply in a whisper, To be nothing more than Wind chimes for the eyes, To inhabit a verdant sheaf; this is the human dream.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Little Fingers | Hayden Mesnick

Little fingers Extend outward, A gap between each finger, The sun shining through. Behind each finger, Rustling trees, Bend in the wind, Down to each other. And to the little mind Of the little boy, W

Confession | Sandy Shen

uh-oh I’m getting a sense of deja vu. The subtlest of moths tickle my skin fill me with warm, aching dread How do I say “hi,” without sounding high or blushing a feverish hue? I could sit around liste

Edison | Sandy Shen

I. Meringue we used to scamper up the hill just to taste soft sugar crystals melt onto our tongues. i miss those chocolate chips, those oak doors that opened only for us. II. Egg Tart strawberry short

bottom of page