top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

Revival | Sammy Jennings

She comes slowly in the night

at first, ever so softly like a faint autumn breeze

The sun and the moon meet and she is once again resurrected from the deepest parts of the night sky.

When the music dies down

When the birds stop singing their melodic song

When the grandfather clock strikes the witching hour.

With conceding arms, I find myself coming to greet her, as I always do.

I embrace her melancholic whispers seeping into me like a needle puncturing ink into the skin.

Her haunting touch slices through me

It pierces deep

A cry, only a single cry I utter forth; the world neglects to pause

A cut so profound that erupts to her presence

and deepens into a sorrow marking of loneliness.

The ocean in my chest ceases to flow its stream of life into the rivers throughout me.

The rivers dry up…

For a thousand years, my lips shriveled and cracked

My fingertips, parched with the dripping desire to rise again

Until I recognize the absence of her

And the cut which brought the endless drought and the incarcerating pain

is now vague.

I become alive to this revelation, just as she was revitalized by the night sky so long ago.

The birds begin whistling their familiar song: an enchanting reminder that the day is dawning

Morning.

And the river within me flows a relentless stream of solace.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Killer- Villisca 1912 | Ethan McCullough

His shadow in the moonlight It lingers on the earth The steel axe inside his right hand Floating in the night He steps out from the treeline Starts to cross the field The wind whistles in the dark He’

Untitled | Mairi Ashton

The woman wrote feverishly by the light of the stale office lights. Never had she had so much to say, so much to work with. Usually, her mind went blank with each new request or demand. Write this, wr

You Are Not What You Believe In | Amy Zhang

We’re all confused, This world is strange; We continue to fight, This world is fake. This world we’ve built, Of lies and of spite, Will continue to crumble Right before our eyes. I’ll side with you, A

bottom of page