top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

The Old Photograph | Samuel Oguntoyinbo

The other day

I found myself

Captivated by

An old photograph

Underneath my bed.


It showed a boy

In a green shirt

Arms crossed

Eyebrows knit

In an inexplicable scowl.


I recognized

That puckered face

And furrowed brow

I’d seen it once or twice before

In the mirror.


I wonder what

That boy was thinking

As he sat by himself

With his green shirt

And foggy glasses.


He wanted to be older

Bigger, stronger, wiser

To be 16 or 17

To gain the respect

That age gives you.


And now, standing bigger, stronger, wiser

I feel a nebulous desire

That I dreamt up

As I stared at the old photograph

Of the boy with the green shirt.


I wish to be anywhere

Anywhere else

To float in the river Lethe

And wake up

In a green shirt

Arms crossed

Eyebrows knit

In an inexplicable scowl.

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Little Fingers | Hayden Mesnick

Little fingers Extend outward, A gap between each finger, The sun shining through. Behind each finger, Rustling trees, Bend in the wind, Down to each other. And to the little mind Of the little boy, W

Confession | Sandy Shen

uh-oh I’m getting a sense of deja vu. The subtlest of moths tickle my skin fill me with warm, aching dread How do I say “hi,” without sounding high or blushing a feverish hue? I could sit around liste

Edison | Sandy Shen

I. Meringue we used to scamper up the hill just to taste soft sugar crystals melt onto our tongues. i miss those chocolate chips, those oak doors that opened only for us. II. Egg Tart strawberry short

bottom of page