top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

A Modern Day Love Story | Maureen Bauza

It started out like a dream,

where the love is so pure it’s sure to make you beam.

Love like a fairy tale, the kind you read about in your childhood,

I never thought anything could make you feel so good.

I fall in love a little bit more everyday,

nothing he could do could make me not want to stay.


Every relationship has its ups and downs

So it’s ok to have a few breakdowns.

“As long as the good outweighs the bad” my mother would say,

but no matter what would happen I knew I would never be able to stay away.

I love him and he loves me

That's all that matters and that's all I see.


“I forgive you” he shouts

After another fight broke out

A common phrase he often says after a brawl,

while I’m left motionless in the corner apologizing as I bawl.

It only happened once. Then twice. Then soon I lost count,

but whenever we fought it was always on my account.

He does it because he loves me. I should have been better.

I should have known he was too good for me. I’ll never be a Heather.


But if he loved me he wouldn’t always want to fight

and he loved me, he wouldn't say all those words out of spite.

Maybe if I had been better then we would still be together

I really did think if I did what he said we would last forever.

Even after all the blood and tears that had been shed

his sweet words always got in my head

“I’m sorry my dear I would never hurt you”

“I'm sorry my love, but I wouldn’t do it unless I had to”.

Maybe it is my fault, maybe it’s true,

but maybe if I left I wouldn’t be so blue.


Then reality hit harder than he did, everything fell into perspective

I still don’t understand how his lies were so convincing and effective.

I now understand that he never loved me.

Why could I not see that he just didn’t want to be lonely?

All the things I couldn’t see are now right here in front of me

I was never the problem, it was never me and now that I see that I‘m finally free.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Forest Fire | Sammy Jennings

Progress is not an linear line Sloping upwards, past the clouds Hurtling into the warmth of the sun. It is not a predictable chain of events, playing by the rule book. At times the prospect of results

Intangible Gold | Oshin Samuel

The hallways are never dim, here. She shines too fierce for that, bathing them in colorful light that shimmers like a mirage. Maybe it is a mirage. It should be blinding, should drive them mad, but it

Desolation | Dylan Hirsh

How long has it been? Your essence lingers, but you do not. The air is cold and bitter, and still, even after all this time, I wait in frigid silence for you to return to me. Hallways once illuminated

bottom of page