top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

Desolation | Dylan Hirsh

How long has it been?

Your essence lingers, but you do not. The air is cold and bitter, and still, even after all this time, I wait in frigid silence for you to return to me.

Hallways once illuminated by your presence now lay shrouded in darkness, long-lost echoes of your voice almost audible amongst the eerie quiet.

Phantoms of our pasts seem to haunt these now-desolate corridors. They are reminders of the way things once were, of the serenity, the joy, the contentment that filled our hearts before your departure.

Oh, how different things had been before you left. Still, as if it had just been yesterday, I can remember the image of your silhouette, the warmth and daring of those eyes of yours as they looked into my own, holding promises of victory and glory and justice for our kingdom. Still, even now, I can remember the sound of your voice, the look on your face as you promised that you would one day return.

You promised. It’s because of that promise that I find myself still standing, waiting for you, even after all these years.

You promised. Maybe that’s why the faded sepia letters scattered about the dusty floor detailing your untimely demise, why the emptiness that seems to have swallowed our home whole, why the light-yet-aguishly-heavy box of ashes sitting on top the uncleaned counter top aren’t enough to convince me that you won’t be coming back.

They can’t be right. They can’t be. I know they aren’t. I’ll wait. Even if it takes all of eternity, I shall wait for you to return.

Because you promised.

You promised.

You promised me, so please, come back. I miss you. Please.

...How long has it been?


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Forest Fire | Sammy Jennings

Progress is not an linear line Sloping upwards, past the clouds Hurtling into the warmth of the sun. It is not a predictable chain of events, playing by the rule book. At times the prospect of results

Intangible Gold | Oshin Samuel

The hallways are never dim, here. She shines too fierce for that, bathing them in colorful light that shimmers like a mirage. Maybe it is a mirage. It should be blinding, should drive them mad, but it

A Modern Day Love Story | Maureen Bauza

It started out like a dream, where the love is so pure it’s sure to make you beam. Love like a fairy tale, the kind you read about in your childhood, I never thought anything could make you feel so go

bottom of page