top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

Your Empty Promise | Amy Duan (11)

Updated: Apr 27, 2022

Goodbye was the most heart-wrenching word I’ve ever said.

As it rolls off your tongue,

It taints you, poisons you, stabs you

Goodbye to the friendships.

Goodbye to the memories.

Goodbye to us.

They always told me

That friends could be the best support.

They never warned me

That friends could be the worst promisers.

We were supposed to be the elite duo.

But look at us now,

Ever-lasting mortal enemies.

Just like the bud

That was to bloom into a beautiful lily,

But sat in the dark,

As it was too afraid to open

We walked hand in hand,

Not wanting to lose the other,

But in the end, you left

Into the abyss of our memories

Just like the bud

That was to be given sunshine,

I shriveled in the dark,

And my leaves turn brown

But however bitter it ended,

It was still as sweet as candy

An addictive drug

Engraved in my brain

I was playing a game I could never win

Competing for first place,

But always landing second.

Maybe a part of me is glad;

Glad I avoided the fake promises

Glad I avoided the poisonous venom

Glad I avoided the disaster called

you.

It’s funny how we talked about next year.

It’s funny how we talked about college.

It’s funny how we talked about our dreams.

Because look where it got us now

Look at the decisions you made,

The actions you took,

The path you chose

I was young and naive,

Just like the tiny bud;

And you were bold and captivating

Just like the bright sun,

The perfect soulmates.

But even suns can’t last forever.

And without a perfect sun:

A flower can’t bloom.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Four-Leaf Clover | Tabatha Fye (11)

Driving back from Dublin A smile on her face Yet with teary eyes She contemplates The conclusion of a perfect weekend With her favorite person Overflowed with fun and rest As time ticked on, she watch

Bitter | Rohan Navaneetha (11)

Bustling, this amorphous and constantly shifting mass hums with the spice of life. I’m a voyeur in this world, relegated to the sidelines and the support of those more splendiferous. Truth be told, I’

Free Me | Jolie Goulakos (11)

Free me Free a woman of her need to be saccharine Sticky, tacky, sweet, made by god to be seen Free her She’s dipped her hands in honey And tied her hair up perfectly Mascara tears too runny It was to

bottom of page