top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

“Full body detox” | Alana Guo (11)

I sit on my bed and marinate in the sounds that drench and send pulses through the folds of my mushy brain and cleans them by picking and scrubbing and polishing the crevices and cracks, including the hard-to-reach spots. My eyelids slide over my eyes each time I fill my lungs with thick air. When they open, they drape lazily like a sagging dishrag.


But even though my chin sinks into my chest, my hands start and stop writing to the bitter and sweet and sad voice that conducts my body, that sucks heavy doubt out of pores, that leaves no room for the squeezing and slithering stealthy sorrowful worms that squirm and cling to my clothes.


Yellow is the color I imagine when my ears drink up the symphony and soak me from head-to-toe and I absorb it easily like a paper towel. Yellow is the color that liquifies the slimy insides of the worms and allows bean sprouts to peek their heads through my blanket with its musical fertilizer.


I breathe out my last gray breath and fill my nostrils with fragrances of sweet seedlings and my eyelids are tugged shut, working in unison with the soft tune.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

G-ds Composition | Aitan Dubson (11)

I have a lover Like a lock and key I know I won't find another The other side of me Call us a symphony For our lives are one song The perfect harmony Without the other, we don't belong I wouldn't trad

Symphony | Daniel Sher (11)

Soft silence coats the hall as somber death Impinge those aged souls whose time has come. Lamented their dejected final breath, Embracing quietude to which we must succumb. Now noisily proclaimed with

harmonic dissonance | Laura Mo (12)

the voices wail at her and they scream horrendous things pushing haunting suffocating she hears the demon laughing maniacally as he slowly rusts the metal of the chains that were supposed to bind him

bottom of page