top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

in the midwest | Adrienne Kvaka

i watch you stumble over the uneven sidewalk. when

the concrete touches your skin it

makes your palms bleed brittle

and worn and you brush the gravel

gone.

later at the river

you wade into the cold. bare feet

mucky with clay and sand until

your toes hit the rocks and

that’s when you stop. current please don’t

take me away you say. please don’t

pull me apart. these stones

sit heavy in your stomach. you

swallowed them to be more

like earth but now they just weigh you

down, keep you stuck in place

like an anchor. sinking deeper

into the riverbed

current please don’t take me away.

obscured by bark and leaves

i see the wind in your hair so

lovely like always. no

sun shines, just cloud and mist rising

from the river. current

please don’t pull me apart. listen

to me now: you are more

than roadway construction, abhorred

monday mornings, corn fields,

and hell is real written as a

short-winded promise of

the wicked and cruel. you call for

me to join your game but

i’m not ready to swallow the

stones.

again: you are orion’s belt.

three clear stars, one for each stone

burning bright as hope in

your stomach. city pollution

cannot hide you away.

again: you are creek walks in the

summer. the hills we call

mountains, half moons that follow the

car. cicadas every

seventeen years. lie dormant, lie

still. tell the current to

keep you safe. stones in your stomach

like an anchor, sink to

the clay. hit rock and beckon me

forward. river please don’t

take us away.

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Onomatopoeia | Julia Mayer

poppoppop dribbles down my chin my insides are filled with that kind of sticky love, sickly love, and for a second i almost think that it’s the real kind pop pop pop the party crackers aren’t as loud

Misty Eyes | Maria Kloboves

Misty eyes look up at me, Begging me to set them free. The door is opened, the outside pours in- Cold wind nips my toes and frosts my hair. Small paws pitter-patter across the tile, She seems to be ta

The Tragic Tale of Jack and Jill | Kevin Zhou

“Jack and Jill went up the hill To fetch a pail of water. Jack fell down and broke his crown And Jill came tumbling after.“ - My muse, as it were. There lived a boy, his name was Jack, With but the cl

bottom of page