top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

Onomatopoeia | Julia Mayer

poppoppop

dribbles down my chin

my insides are filled with that kind of sticky love,

sickly love,

and for a second i almost think that it’s the real kind


pop pop pop

the party crackers aren’t as loud as your stare on the side of my face,

and now i’m sunburnt in the middle of january

suddenly getting older doesn’t seem like a cause for celebration

you held up my first present, and i didn’t expect it to be my last

because your hands are clean;

were clean


pop

pop

pop

you stopped eating

you stopped sleeping

you stopped living

but you didn’t stop drinking

and the cork didn’t block that tight little neck for long


pop


pop


pop


i should’ve known when i got the call that you hadn’t clocked into work this morning

of course, you can’t oversleep when you don’t sleep at all

and the gun i’d heard in movies and in the backyard was now punching-popping-through the library

when the meanest bully in fifth grade hit the floor

and when you snarled “this is for anna, this is for my sister”

and when you looked at me and your steely gaze faltered

i thought that i would be saved from you

and i was right

because when my body

drop

drop

drops down to the floor

and the snaps of your gun are now permanently cemented into my skull

but even as the white hot flashes of heaven and hell battle for my soul

i’m cold


because i’m free

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

in the midwest | Adrienne Kvaka

i watch you stumble over the uneven sidewalk. when the concrete touches your skin it makes your palms bleed brittle and worn and you brush the gravel gone. later at the river you wade into the cold. b

Misty Eyes | Maria Kloboves

Misty eyes look up at me, Begging me to set them free. The door is opened, the outside pours in- Cold wind nips my toes and frosts my hair. Small paws pitter-patter across the tile, She seems to be ta

The Tragic Tale of Jack and Jill | Kevin Zhou

“Jack and Jill went up the hill To fetch a pail of water. Jack fell down and broke his crown And Jill came tumbling after.“ - My muse, as it were. There lived a boy, his name was Jack, With but the cl

bottom of page