top of page
  • Writer's pictureSHS Images

To Form a Reflection | Sandy Shen

I thought keeping her inside would help

It’d be better for her

stay green and pure

An idol, sweet and demure

Unburnt by slicing rays.


Yet when did she morph

Into a home for melancholy and fear

Always drilling a hole into my head?

She’s become a nagging sprite

A product of my neglect and spite


So only when the night is dead-heavy do I draw her out,

Cajoling her with promises of light and pretty things,

anything to remove her from her festered corner.

She emerges, suspicion and hope flickering in her eyes.


I smile in relief.


We know the tip of a pencil, the hair of a brush, the breadth of a canvas

are our only sources of solace.

Somehow, we harvest fresh peaches from the depths of muffled memories,

pluck tunes with the snapped strings of our hearts,

all under the shelter of the night.

It is the only time to make peace

To craft something from nothing.

But I don’t know who is more weary of this cycle.

She, who is constantly called upon in the dead of the night

for a passionate midnight escapade

Or me, who lives off sweet musings and false hopes collected at midnight.

Still, it flows constantly, and these brief night sessions are the interim

The double-glass plane between the hellish hours of the day

Keeping us going, keeping us steady, keeping us contained.


So the long night drags on

as she maps our worries and fears onto the page,

Leaving me to connect the dots and form a reflection.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Onomatopoeia | Julia Mayer

poppoppop dribbles down my chin my insides are filled with that kind of sticky love, sickly love, and for a second i almost think that it’s the real kind pop pop pop the party crackers aren’t as loud

in the midwest | Adrienne Kvaka

i watch you stumble over the uneven sidewalk. when the concrete touches your skin it makes your palms bleed brittle and worn and you brush the gravel gone. later at the river you wade into the cold. b

Misty Eyes | Maria Kloboves

Misty eyes look up at me, Begging me to set them free. The door is opened, the outside pours in- Cold wind nips my toes and frosts my hair. Small paws pitter-patter across the tile, She seems to be ta

bottom of page